Friday, 4 May 2012

Men of May Bloghop


Welcome to the Men of May Bloghop where we celebrate men in all their glory (as if we don't do enough of that already). Please visit all my fellow hoppers as they celebrate the wonder that is man.



I’m the youngest of a large family, with four brother and two sisters.  My brothers are substantially older than me, so that as this stage in our lives, they have retired, whilst I am wondering whether I can make writing my final career. I won’t put details or pictures of my family on the internet, but I hope that the pictures I include show you just how amazing I think my brothers are.

One of the disadvantages to having such older siblings is that by the time I was old enough to know them, they were settled down, two of them with families. In my teenage eyes, boring, boring , boring.

Boring? One of my brothers was a fireman on a steam train in the last few years of steam. Can you imagine doing every little boy's dream job? Okay, I'm going back a bit. Now of course, kids want to be game designers.


Another brother who I thought never went anywhere - ever - at all - hitchiked around Africa. Boring? Heck, how many people can say they've done that? I've only ever been on a package holiday.







My other two brothers were both in the armed services in the days of the Cold War; the Navy and the RAF. For the first part of my life they were away most of the time which is why they didn't really impinge on my consciousness until they had left the services and settled down. My brothers have travelled the world. That is more than I have done.

No, my brother wasn't a pilot - but planes - come on. I love planes.

What I am trying to say here is that it's taken me a long time to realize what amazing men I have in my family. I could have shown you fabulous pictures of mancandy. Instead, I wanted to show you how amazing the men in our lives are already.




I have a giveaway today. A copy of either Stolen Dreams or Complete Faith can be yours.


My fellow hoppers are as follows


Michael Mandrake                                http://tabooindeed.blogspot.com
Cassandre Dayne                                  http://cassandredayne.wordpress.com
CR Guiliano                                          http://crguiliano.blogspot.com
Dawns Reading Nook                           http://dawnsreadingnook.blogspot.com
Angel Martinez                    http://www.freewebs.com/angelwrites/apps.blog
Sue Brown                                            http://suebrownstories.blogspot.co.uk
Sara York                                             http://sarayork.blogspot.com
Wendy & Mollie Books                 http://www.wendysmithbooks.com
Kiki Howell Authors by Authors            http://authorsbyauthors.blogspot.com
Kharisma Rhayne                                  http://kharismarhayne.com
Desi Moon                                            http://dbmoonauthor.blogspot.com
P.K.Morris                                           http://pkmorris.wordpress.com
Patricia Logan Naughty Passions           http://naughtypassions.blogspot.com
Hayley B. James                                    http://hayleybjames.com
Jaxx Steele                                            http://jaxxsteele.blogspot.com
SJD Peterson                                        http://sjdpeterson.blogspot.com
S.L. Danielson                                      http://www.ladyauthorsld.blogspot.com
Avril Ashton                                         http://avril-ashton.blogspot.com
Suzzana C. Ryan                                  http://www.suzzanacryanromanceauthor.blogspot.com/
Elizabeth Black                                    http://elizabethblack.blogspot.com
Blood, Lust, and Erotica                      http://vampiriquedezire.blogspot.com/
Melissa Keir                                        http://www.melissakeir.com/blog.html
Tara Lain Erotic Romance                   http://taralain.blogspot.com
Bethany Cross                                     http://www.bethanycross.blogspot.com
Lisa Worrall                                        http://www.lworrall.blogspot.com
Lavinia Lewis                                       http://lavinialewisuk.blogspot.co.uk
Nya Rawlins                                        http://www.romancingwords.com/a-passion-for-writing-blog.html
Megan Slayer                                      http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com/
J.R. Loveless                                       http://jrloveless.blogspot.com
Christopher Craven                              http://cravenheat.blogspot.com
Delina Silverfox                                    http://delenasilverfox.blogspot.com/2012/04/men-lovely-men.html
The Naughty Pages of Phoenix             http://www.naughtypagesofphoenix.blogspot.com/
Talon PS                                              http://talon-ps.com/
Brandie Buckwine                                http://brandiebuckwine.com/blog/


13 comments:

  1. Wow, you are lucky with such a family history. Mine is nothing special, so I look for my heroes in books. I would love to read Complete Faith.
    Joan
    0401romance(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm lucky with the man in my family , especially the ones I birthed. They are doing all the things that I would have loved to do myself as a younger woman but didn't as I was so busy being a mum to them :D

    ilona
    felinewyvern at googlemail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  3. That is a wonderful group of men, Sue. I really loved your post. It was a unique and touching take on the Men of May theme.

    geishasmom73 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I think that is a really nice tribute to your brothers.

    My grandfather was in the Navy during WWII and my father-in-law was a B-52 pilot. They made a lot of sacrifices for us so I think that makes them pretty amazing.

    lkbherring64(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  5. You're lucky I don't have any brothers. Always wished I had at least one though. Sounds like you had enough fun with them for the both of us. :)

    morris.crissy@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm an army brat - long list of men (father, uncles, brothers, nephews) that have served in our forces. Gotta love the men (and women) that stand up or our country!

    ReplyDelete
  7. No one exciting in my family, but I am glad yours is! I think Complete Faith would be perfect to read!
    OceanAkers(at)aol(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great post. Thanks for the giveaway.

    mythic021@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  9. What an inspiration your brothers are! Thanks for sharing.
    suz2(at)cox(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
  10. What great inspiration! Thanks for sharing your experience.
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm an only child but I had plenty of uncles who looked out (and continues to look out) for me. They are the best!

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  12. What a great hop! I love looking at the men that inspire the writers.

    mimirose41209 at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  13. I can't wait to read Stolen Dreams!

    ReplyDelete